Eyes

October 15, 2016

Written by Nazanin Ghodrati
Translated by Negin Ghodrati
Edited by Afshin Nikouseresht

For some time now, when I close my eyes to sleep at night, other eyes open in the infinite darkness behind my eyelids. They all seem different from one another; some appear to be human eyes – with small and deep pupils – while others appear as the eyes of beasts – their pupils wide and wild. Others, I cannot recognise, as though they are not from this world. Yet they all have one thing in common and it is the unutterable feeling of dread they stir inside my body every night. These eyes appear in the infinite darkness behind my eyes, sometimes one by one, two by two, several at a time, or worse…all together at once. They float awhile in this deep darkness behind my eyelids, stare at me and then disappear.

img-20161019-wa0000

by Negin Ghodrati

What do these cold staring eyes want from me? Are they there to judge me? Do they have a message for me? Or is their sole purpose to agonise and torture me? What if they belong to me? What if they are different reflections of myself, projecting their way from the depths of my subconscious onto the pitch black screen that is the back of my eyelids? What if these eyes are the very “reflections of the shadow of the soul that manifest themselves in a coma-like limbo between sleep and wakefulness” (1974, p.16) that Sadegh Hedayat had been witness to every night in The Blind Owl?

Whatever they may be, these stares are extremely disturbing and agonising. But the human ones not so much; for as cold and leering as they are, they do not torment me as much, as I can make a transient and distant association with them and the human eyes I know in the waking world; and just as I do in the waking world, I tolerate the presence of their cold and leering stares in that twilight zone between sleep and wakefulness. I know many people who stare at me with their cold eyes in the waking world and I knew that someday their stares would find their way to the darkness behind my eyelids and haunt me in my dreams.

What disturbs me most is the other eyes. Why have earthly beasts and other-worldly creatures pervaded my nocturnal darkness? Could I have been a beast or other-worldly creature in a past life? Does this mean that I endured such cold stares in my past lives as well? And will such cold stares await me in my future lives – if I live again after life is extinguished in my current body – to not only torment me in the waking world but to also occupy the infinite darkness behind my eyelids as I fall asleep?

These are the questions that have deprived me of sleep for some time now. But my thirst for answers compels me to keep my eyes shut so that I may find an answer inside these eyes, even if only inside one of them. But all these cold staring eyes do is fill the vast void behind my eyelids. Has anyone else experienced the weight of these heavy stares in their sleep? Has anyone else witnessed the assault upon the infinite darkness behind their eyelids by the eyes of these earthly beasts and other-worldly creatures? I doubt it, for I can instantly recognise the look on the faces of creatures, whether they be human, beast or un-earthly beings, who have been exposed to the heavy coldness of such stares. The thought that only my sleep and the darkness behind my eyelids, to which until recently I had taken refuge in to escape the heavy cold stares of the waking world, is taken away from me by disturbing stares of earthly and un-earthly beings, is unspeakably horrifying. This thought makes the darkness behind my eyelids darker and deeper each and every passing night.

References
Hedayat, S (1974) The Blind Owl. Translated by Iraj Bashiri.


Original text in Farsi
Written by Nazanin Ghodrati

چشمها

مدّتیست که شبها هنگام خواب وقتی چشمهایم را می بندم چشمهای دیگری در تاریکی بی‌نهایت پشت پلکهایم باز میشوند. این چشم‌ها با هم متفاوت اند; بعضی انگار متعلق به انسان است، با مردمک ریز و عمیق. بعضی دیگر به حیوان، با مردمک درشت و وحشی. بقیه را نمیتوانم تشخیص بدهم، انگار به این دنیا تعلق ندارند. اما این چشم‌ها در یک چیز مشترک اند، و آن‌ وحشت توصیف ناپذیری ‌ست که هر شب در همهٔ موجودم ایجاد میکنند. این چشمها یا یکی یکی ، دوتا دوتا، چند تا با هم، و یا بدتر، همه با هم در تاریکی بی‌نهایت پشت پلکهایم پدیدار میشوند، مدتی در این تاریکی عمیق معلق می مانند، به من خیره نگاه میکنند و سپس محو میشوند

این مردمک‌های خیره، این نگاه‌های سرد از من چه میخواهند؟ آیا دارند من را قضاوت میکنند؟ آیا پیغامی برای من دارند؟ و یا اینکه تنها هدفشان زجر و عذاب من است؟ نکند این چشمها متعلق به خود من هستند که از اعماق ناخودآگاهم سر کشیده‌اند و به تاریکی پشت پلکهایم هجوم آورده اند تا جلوه‌هایی‌ از خودم را به من نشان دهند؟ نکند این چشمها همان “انعكاس سايه ی روح که در حالت اغماء و برزخ بين خواب و بيداری جلوه می كند” هستند که صادق هدایت در بوف کور هم هر شب نظاره گر‌ بوده؟

هر چه هست این نگاهها بسیار مضطرب کننده و زجرآورهستند. ولی نگاه خیره و سرد چشم‌های متعلق به انسان آنقدر زجرآور برایم نیست، چون میتوانم ارتباط دور و موقتی‌ای بین آنها و چشم آدمهایی که در دنیای بیداری می شناسم ایجاد کنم، و مثل دنیای بیداری, در حالت نیمه خواب و نیمه بیدار نیز حضور نگاهشان را تحمل کنم، چرا که آدمهای زیادی را می شناسم که در دنیای بیداری با نگاه سردشان به من خیره میشوند و من می دانستم که بالاخره به دنیای خواب من، به تاریکی پشت پلکهایم رخنه خواهند کرد

img-20161019-wa0000

by Negin Ghodrati

آنچه مضطرب کننده تر و زجرآور تر است بقیهٔ چشمهاست. چرا حیونات زمینی و موجودات متعلق به دنیای ماورأ نیز به تاریکی پشت پلکهایم رخنه کردند؟ یعنی من زندگی‌های قبلی داشته‌ام که در آن یک حیوان و یا یک موجود غیر زمینی بوده ام؟ یعنی در زندگی‌های قبلی‌ام نیز نگاه دیگران همه سرد و خیره بوده است؟ بر حسب این قیاس یعنی در زندگیهای بعدی ام، اگر زندگی‌ای بعداز نابودی جسم کنونی‌ام وجود داشته باشد، چشمهایی خواهند بود که نه تنها در دنیای بیداری بلکه در دنیای خواب نیز به من خیره و سرد نگاه میکنند و تاریکی بی‌نهایت پشت پلکهایم را اشغال میکنند؟

این سوال هاست که مدّتیست خواب را از من گرفته، ولی عطش و اضطراب رسیدن به جواب برای این سؤال‌ها من را وادار می کند که چشمهایم را بسته نگاه دارم که شاید جوابی در این چشمها پیدا کنم، حتا اگر فقط در یکی از آن ها. ولی تنها نگاه خیره و سرد این چشمهاست که تاریکی پشت پلکهایم را پر می کند. آیا کس دیگری هم این چشمها، این نگاه‌های سنگین را هر شب هنگام خواب تجربه کرده است؟ آیا کس دیگری هم مثل من هر شب نظاره گر هجوم نگاه‌های خیره موجودات زمینی و غیر زمینی به تاریکی بی‌نهایت پشت پلک‌هایش بوده است؟ بعید می دانم، چون چهره و نگاه هر موجودی را، چه انسان، چه حیوان، چه غیر زمینی ، که در معرض نگاه خیره و سنگین دیگران قرار گرفته باشد را می شناسم و در جا تشخیص میدهم. این فکر که تنها از من دنیای خواب و تاریکی عمیق و بی‌نهایت پشت پلکهایم، که تا چند وقت پیش تنها راه فرارم از نگاه‌های خیره و سنگین دنیای بیداری بوده ، توسط نگاه‌های خیره و سرد موجودات زمینی و ماورا گرفته شده بسیار هولناک است. این فکر تاریکی پشت پلکهایم را هر شب تاریک تر و عمیق تر می کند

__________

Nazanin Ghodrati is an English for Academic Purposes lecturer. Her literary interests are in Gothic, Dystopian and Absurdist fiction, as well as in Confessional poetry.

Leave a Reply

